Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Cart 0
Cart 0

We believe that everyone deserves a chance to succeed.

Our mission is to leverage innovation to make things better.

 
boys-photo-more-clouds.jpg
 

Our Founding Story

 

In 2007, our founder Kenton Lee traveled to Nairobi, Kenya after graduating college. He lived and worked at a small orphanage with some incredible kids. One day, he was walking down a dusty road with all the kids when he noticed a little girl in a white dress walking next to him. As he looked down at her feet, he was shocked to see how small her shoes were. They were so small that she had to cut open the front of her shoes to let her toes stick out. That was the day that Kenton thought:

What if there was a shoe that could adjust and expand its size?
What if there was a shoe that could grow?

And the idea for The Shoe That Grows™ was born.

It took Kenton and a group of friends back in their hometown in Idaho more than six years to take this idea and turn it into a reality. But they finally did it; they made The Shoe That Grows—a shoe that grows five sizes and lasts for years.

They started the nonprofit organization Because International™ to serve as the structure to get The Shoe That Grows to as many kids as possible who are in desperate need of footwear to protect their feet. This was always meant to be a small hobby for Kenton and his friends. It was something they were passionate about, but they never dreamed it would be the worldwide cause and movement that it is today.

 
 
 

Our Team

Andrew

Andrew Kroes

Luke

Luke Goodman

Nate

Nathan Roskam

 
Kayla

Kayla Hetherington

Emily

Emily Allen

Special Projects Manager

emily@becauseinternational.org

Linnea

Linnea Hanson

Ali

Alice Baldazo

Development Program Manager

alice@becauseinternational.org

 
Logan

Logan Freiburghaus

Kenny

Kenny Wade

Church Suite Manager

kenny@becauseinternational.org

Japheth

Japheth Opondo

Kenya Program Coordinator

japheth@becauseinternational.org

Oscar

Oscar Diaz

Partner Success Coordinator

oscar@becauseinternational.org

 
Lauren

Lauren Diaz

Financial Control Coordinator

lauren@becauseinternational.org

Brandon

Brandon Spiller

Sarah

Sarah Hille

Church Suite Coordinator

sarah@becauseinternational.org

Justin

Justin Shaw

Social Media Coordinator

justin@becauseinternational.org

 
Tarah

Tarah Mcneil

 
 
 

Our Board

audie-mcrae-compressed.jpg

Audie Mcrae

Board Chair

katherine-neebe-small.jpg

Katherine Neebe

eric-fredriksen-compressed.jpg

Eric Fredriksen

kendra-witt-doyle.jpg

Kendra Witt-Doyle

gary-howlett-compressed.jpg

Gary Howlett

heath-gamboa-compressed.jpg

Heath Gamboa

shannon_mcguire.jpeg

Shannon mcguire

Blank.png
 
 

Annual Reports + 990s

 
 

2015

990

2014

 
 
 

Contact Us

Because International

120 9th Avenue S. Suite #110
Nampa, Idaho 83651

+1-208-697-4417
info@becauseinternational.org